Your Compeer Office
Blue Earth, MN

1700 Gian Drive, PO Bbox 220
Blue Earth, MN 65013
[email protected]

Compeer Client Services

High School Scholarships Awarded

For Immediate Release



Nora Nolden, PR & Communications Consultant

[email protected] or (651) 245-6804



Compeer Financial Awards 123 High School Scholarships
Scholarship recipients represent future of agriculture

Sun Prairie. Wis., (April 25, 2023)  The Fund for Rural America, Compeer Financial’s corporate giving program, has awarded 123 scholarships to high school seniors across Illinois, Minnesota and Wisconsin. Each student received a $1,500 educational scholarship. 

“Each of the high school students who was awarded a scholarship confirms what we already know: that there is a bright future for rural America and agriculture,” said Karen Schieler, senior corporate giving specialist. “Providing these scholarships is a way we can help fulfill our mission of championing rural. These students have worked hard during their educational journey and we’re honored to support them.”

Scholarship recipients were chosen based on their academic achievement, essay writing and involvement in agriculture and community organizations. Among the recipients, animal science is the most popular major followed by agriculture business. South Dakota State University and Iowa State University are tied for the most popular school, followed by the University of Wisconsin – Platteville; and 23% of recipients will be attending a community college or technical school. One recipient received scholarships targeted toward students in urban areas with interest in agriculture.

Illinois recipients:
Jennifer Abbott, Orion

Alexa Anderson, Shabbona

Tyler Atkins, Lexington

Ethan Bode, Sycamore

Lauren Carlson, Byron

Chloe Chastain, Nebo

Kylee Cook, Toluca

Cora DeSutter, Manito

Kendra Downing, Cambridge

Ryle Duke, Ursa

Grace Dunseth, Macomb

Anna Faivre, Polo

Marissa Folkers, Morrison

Garrett Gensler, Rochelle

Megan Gray, Aledo

Joshua Guerra, Chicago

Lucas Hanen, Saint Anne

Carter Daniel Hoge, Good Hope

Ella James, Manito

Aidan Jenks, Monmouth

Jack Jungmann, Little York

Sarah Kaiser, Galva

Andrew Kempel, Lena

Isabella Kirchmann, Sycamore

Libby Larkin, Pontiac

Jolee Larson, Hinckley

Emily Little, Williamsfield

Elaina Martin, Warren

Madeline Nightingale, Orion

Neve Pinkerton, Blackstone

Taylor Rhoads, Genoa

Hailey Schultz, German Valley

Emma Seiboldt, Victoria

Perry Serven, St. Augustine

Blair Snyder, La Fayette

Nathan Spangler, Marietta

Ty Steffen, Newark

Daniel Stephens, Bowen

Joshua Walter, DeKalb

Anna Webel, Farmington

Gracyn Welsh, Blandinsville


Minnesota recipients:
Joseph Achen, Little Falls 

William Allis, Easton

Blake Arnold, Foley

Madeline Boie, Pine Island

Colby Brandt, Le Sueur

Andrew Burns, Stewart

Brooke Calteaux, Winona

Natalie Clemenson, Zumbrota

Nathaniel Clore, Bricelyn

Ella Hegland, Northfield

Dylan Heiderscheidt, Faribault

Alexis Hoefs, New Prague

Claire Hoffman, Rushmore

Brooke Johnson, Faribault

Carter Johnson, Lakefield

Daelyn Judd, Waterville

Leah Kruse, Ellsworth

Gabriel Lawver, Garden City

Cassidy Madison, Adrian

Ethan Muellerleile, Elysian

Evelyn Otto, Delano

Aiden Penner, Butterfield

Carson Pomerenke, Fairmont

Claire Popkes, Ellsworth

Katelyn Radman, Randolph

Tyler Ratka, Cold Spring

Abigail Reetz, Wilmont 

Tegan Ridenour, Dodge Center

Lauren Rott, Elgin

Elaine Sauder, Pine Island

Evelyn Scheffler, Zumbrota

Miranda Schroeder, Caledonia

Brianna Sieve, Wilmont

Lee Siewert, Lake City

Madison Simon, Preston

Jordan Simones, Elko

Alexis Steckelberg, Blooming Prairie

Katherine Thome, Adams 

Malorie Thorson, Waverly 

Rachel Visser, Hutchinson

Gavin Warmkagathje, Saint Charles


Wisconsin recipients:
Allison Ahrensmeyer, Baraboo

Mackenzie Aurit, Dodgeville 

Morgan Baerwolf, Sun Prairie

Maggie Berra, Genoa

Brandon Boyd, Watertown

Cora Brandau, Wilton 

Ava Endres, Waunakee

Claire Esselman, Clinton

Frank Fetzer, Boyceville

Regina E Frisle, Prairie Farm

Garrison Furseth, Stoughton

Vaida Goplin, Osseo

Tawney Hadler, Fort Atkinson

Madisyn Henderson, Kenosha

Tianda Hildebrandt, Watertown

Taetum Hoesly, Brodhead

Payton Key, Bagley

Rachel Laird, Cornell

Ava Leibfried, Hazel Green

Julia Lenz, Markesan

Brooke Luedtke, Pardeeville

Brianna Meyer, Chilton

Octavia Meylor, Mineral Point

Sydney Miller, Oconomowoc 

Lily Mitchell, Boscobel

Jamie Reilly, Fond du Lac

Joseph Robinson, Mineral Point

Nicholas Roe, Monticello

Haylee Scharmer, Prairie Du Chien

Abbygail Schlough, Boyceville

Ryan Schubert, Mineral Point

Julia Searls, Cobb

Sara Siegenthaler, Darlington

Talena Sprecher, Lone Rock

Kolten Stibbe, Richland Center

Addison Strunz, Prairie du Sac 

Alexis Thoma-Blankenberg, Platteville

David Thompson, Woodville

Madelyn Thornton, Bagley

Emily Vollmer, Hilbert

Connor Weltzien, Arcadia 


This is the sixth year for the scholarship program from the Compeer Financial Fund for Rural America, which has now awarded 714 students with a total of $1,071,000 in scholarships.

About the Fund for Rural America

The Compeer Financial Fund for Rural America is the corporate giving program of Compeer Financial, structured to support the cooperative’s mission to enrich agriculture and rural America. Compeer Financial’s Board of Directors has dedicated one percent of annual net earnings to support the Fund’s focus areas of education, youth engagement, rural development and community enrichment, agricultural advocacy and development, and cooperative initiatives. The Fund is managed by a Board of Trustees, made up of team members from Illinois, Minnesota and Wisconsin and members of the Compeer Financial Board of Directors. More information about opportunities available through the Fund can be found at


About Compeer Financial

Compeer Financial is a member-owned Farm Credit cooperative serving and supporting agriculture and rural communities. The $29.7 billion organization provides loans, leases, risk management and other financial services throughout 144 counties in Illinois, Minnesota and Wisconsin. Based in the Upper Midwest, Compeer Financial exists to champion the hopes and dreams of rural America, while providing personalized service and expertise to clients and the agriculture industry.

Compeer Financial is the third largest cooperative of the Farm Credit System, a nationwide network of lending institutions supporting agriculture and rural communities with reliable, consistent credit and financial services. Learn more about Compeer Financial’s scholarship program.


facebook twitter linkedin email copy clipboard phone fax pdf print checkmark