Your Compeer Office
Blue Earth, MN

1700 Gian Drive, PO Bbox 220
Blue Earth, MN 65013
[email protected]

Compeer Client Services

$183k Awarded in High School Scholarships

For Immediate Release


Nora Nolden, Communications Consultant

[email protected] or (651) 245-6804



Compeer Financial Awards $183k in High School Scholarships

122 high school students receive awards from Compeer


Sun Prairie, Wis., (May 2, 2024)  Compeer Financial’s Fund for Rural America, the Farm Credit cooperative’s giving program, has awarded 122 scholarships to graduating high school students across Illinois, Minnesota and Wisconsin. Each high school student received a $1,500 education scholarship. This is the seventh year the Fund for Rural America has presented the scholarship program, which has now awarded 837 scholarships totaling more than $1.2 million. 

“Our scholarship program is clear proof that the future of agriculture and rural America is bright and promising,” said Karen Schieler, senior corporate giving specialist at Compeer Financial. “There’s nothing more exciting than helping high school seniors continue their education and contribute to their community. These students are well-rounded, intelligent and proven leaders in their own unique ways.”

Committees of team members from across the organization reviewed and scored the nearly 400 applications received. Top-scoring applicants in the areas of academic achievement, essay writing and involvement in agriculture and community organizations were awarded the scholarships.

Among this year’s recipients, 80 students are pursuing an agriculture major, with agriculture and animal science being the most popular majors. Recipients also include 15 students pursuing medical professions and nine future teachers. Fourteen percent will be attending a community college or technical school, and the average GPA of the students was an impressive 3.89 on a 4-point scale.

The 122 high school scholarship recipients are:


Abigail Clapp, Leroy

Abigail Frank, Atkinson

Abigail Stevenson, Ipava 

Addison Wessel, Sheffield

Allison Hopkins, Gilson

Amber Lee, Durand 

Andrea Schaffnit, Mendon

Aubrey Killey, Berwick

Benjamin Deutsche, Crete

Cassandra Bohnert, East Moline

Christina Snook, Grand Ridge

Cody Shaffer, Ursa

Colby Tate, Griggsville

Dalton Kruger, Hudson

Dane Hennenfent, Gilson

Elizabeth Corrie, Rushville

Ella Gunderson, Shannon

Ellie Hildebrandt, South Beloit 

Ellis Dowell, Mason City 

Emily West, Victoria

Ethan Lucie, Basco

Eva Zimmerman, Sherrard 

Georgia Harvell, Maple Park

Grace Gillepsie, Aledo

Heidi Lovell, Momence

Jackson Klingler, Carthage

Jenica Stoner, Lanark

John Bierman, Bloomington 

Kesler Collins, Flanagan

Kyle Bradshaw, Griggsville

Luke Jungmann, Little York

Madison Block, Sycamore

Miranda Reed, Cambridge 

Sidney Stiers, Williamsfield

Sophia Shaffer, Quincy

Taylor Armstrong, Huntsville

Trent Heller, Dixon

Troy Anderson, Ohio

Wyatt McClintock, Pittsfield

Zachary Hopkins, Gilson


Alicia Holtz, Little Falls 

Alyssa Kuethe, Alden 

Anastasia Stasney, Montgomery 

Andrew Timm, Adams

Anthony Herkenhoff, Albany

Blake Turner, Stewartville

Blake VanPelt, Austin

Braxton O'Rourke, Wells

Brooke Reuter, Amboy

Chase Dahler, Foley

Ellen Merkouris, Albert Lea 

Evan Hansberger, Worthington

Garret Rossman, Oronoco

Grace Morrsiey, Zumbro Falls

Hadli Heim, Saint Charles

Hailey Becker, Blue Earth

Henry Tschetter, Stewartville

Jack Boraas, Zumbro Falls

Jayce Kiehne, Harmony

Jayda Hellewell, Balaton

Jessica Willette, Claremont

Jorvik Jensen, Granada

Kaitlin Reitmeier, Richmond

Kaylin Mensink, Spring Valley

Kensie Heusinkveld, Spring Valley

Kiya Williamson, Belle Plaine

Kody Wassman, Ormsby

Lainey Brandt, Le Sueur 

Lauren Bauer, Brownton

Lyndsey Penegor, Watertown 

Maria Buntjer, Long Prairie

Martha Price, Mapleton

Michael Risacher, Slayton

Mikayla Skiba, North Branch

Porter Kuechle, Eden Valley

Riley Hecht, Paynesville

Ryan Pierson, Butterfield

Sydney Kokot, Glenville 

Taryn Lessman, Jackson

Vincent Vander Kooi, Worthington

Wyatt Glessing, Waverly


Anika Baerwolf, Columbus

Brian Styer, Memonie

Brianna Buechner, Hancock 

Calan Meylor, Mineral Point

Caleb Tracy, Blue River 

Callista Vande Berg, Eldorado

Cassidy Finke, Reedsburg

Charlotte Tompkins, Rio

Chloe Breunig, Sheboygan Falls

Chloe Dummer, Elk Mound

Cora Kohlman, Sheboygan Falls

Dani Graff, Markesan 

Elisabeth Norman, Hartford

Erica Meylor, Mineral Point

Hannah Oleson, Arkdale

Haylie Habeck, Cascade 

Ian Spoke, Waterloo

Isabelle Kolek, Menomonie 

Jackson VanNatta, Lancaster

John Karls, Waunakee

Josie Bailey, Tomah

Karlie Senn, Milton

Katelyn Scannell, Allenton

Katie Brooks, Juda

Katilin Flood, Oconomowoc

Kyle Degner, Wonewoc

Kylie Powell, Norwalk

Landon Rehberg, Elkhorn 

Lidia Bakeberg, Melrose

Logan Brand, Ellsworth

Madison Kwak, Ridgeland

Maggie Horsfall, Fennimore

Makaya McCarthy, Livingston

Morgan Firlus, Wonewoc

Nicholas Needham, Fennimore

Olivia Killian, Blair

Paisley Lindner, Wisconsin Dells 

Samantha Berg, Arcadia

Skye Dickson, Browntown

Summer Hammann, Barron 

Teige W. Perkins, Richland Center



About the Fund for Rural America

The Compeer Financial Fund for Rural America is the corporate giving program of Compeer Financial, structured to support Compeer Financial’s mission to enrich agriculture and rural America. Compeer Financial’s Board of Directors has dedicated one percent of annual net earnings to support the Fund’s focus areas of agricultural advocacy and development, agriculture education, cooperative initiatives, rural development and community enrichment; and youth engagement. The Fund is managed by a Board of Trustees, made up of team members from Illinois, Minnesota and Wisconsin and members of the Compeer Financial Board of Directors. More information about opportunities available through the Fund can be found at

About Compeer Financial

Compeer Financial is a member-owned Farm Credit cooperative serving and supporting agriculture and rural communities. The $31.9 billion organization provides loans, leases, risk management and other financial services throughout 144 counties in Illinois, Minnesota and Wisconsin. Based in the Upper Midwest, Compeer Financial exists to champion the hopes and dreams of rural America, while providing personalized service and expertise to clients and the agriculture industry.

Compeer Financial is the third largest cooperative of the Farm Credit System, a nationwide network of lending institutions supporting agriculture and rural communities with reliable, consistent credit and financial services. Learn more about Compeer Financial’s scholarship program.


facebook twitter linkedin email copy clipboard phone fax pdf print checkmark